Blog Tips & tricksRead more

B1-media-skan-blog

How media library synchronization works

April 30, 2014

One of the major improvements in the latest versions of B1 Free Archiver and B1 File Manager is media library synchronization. Each time you unpack an archive or move a file using B1 apps, media scanner rebuilds media library by adding or deleting new files. We’ve been receiving emails with questions regarding media scanner and complains B1 becoming slower. In fact, everything is quite the opposite.
 
The process of media library synchronization has been revised and changed. Media scanner doesn’t actually interfere with any unpacking or moving process of B1 Free Archiver or B1 File Manager and the process itself takes just a few seconds. Actually you’ll hardly even notice its work. But several things should better be explained.
 
Each time B1 File Manager or B1 Free Archiver performs a task, media library rebuilds automatically if this option is enabled in settings. So, you’ll receive this message:
 

 
That’s how the scanning process looks like… and you don’t have to wait until it’s over. Simply tap OK and continue working with the app. Media library synchronization is a background process, so you don’t have to worry about it slowing down your device.
 
Nevertheless, in case you don’t need media library synchronization, you can disable it any time in the setting menu of the app.
 

 
What’s more, you can manually update media library from the Menu. Simply tap Rebuild media library and the process will begin.
 

 
While this button is greyed-out inside the menu, it means that scanning is not yet complete. You’ll know that the media library is rebuilt when the button becomes active again.
 
And don’t forget to check for updates in our blog, Twitter and Facebook pages and even the Official B1 Free Archiver YouTube channel!